Raspberry Cake with Lemon Lavender Frosting

My BabyI hate baking. Hate it.
But I love my Mom! She is by far the hardest working, strongest, most beautiful woman to ever exist, she makes me so proud to be a part of our family and I love her so much. She supports and loves her girls unconditionally and is a diva of the highest ranking.

But because this IS a recession- I made her a homemade gift. I also made a card with my hand print on it.
For hating baking this turned out to be absolutely beautiful. I can not believe how pretty this cake is.

The Process
I made a really basic yellow cake recipe, stripped down, easy. I then added canned raspberries I had in the cabinet and walnuts also. I made sure to drain the raspberries, I didn’t want to add too much extra liquid to the cake batter. I also added a little lemon zest to make the cake more refreshing.

Hey batta batta SaWing batta
Hey batta batta SaWing batta

I let the cake bake at 350 for 45 minutes and it came out perfectly!

I used a basic butter frosting recipe (I will provide below), and added lemon zest to get a tart fruity taste to the frosting. I frosted the cake and added lavender to the top with lemon slices and a big beauty chlymatis from our garden.
Cake 1 001
Recipe for Raspberry Cake with Lemon Lavender Frosting
1 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup shortening
1/2 cup milk
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs

Grease and flour cake pan. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix flour and dry ingredients.
Cream sugar and shortening in a seperate bowl, add eggs, add dry ingredients little by little, alternating with milk. Add vanilla and raspberries.
Cook for 45 minutes

Lemon Lavender Frosting
2 tbsp butter
1 cup sugar
1tbsp milk
grated lemon rind

Cream butter and sugar well add milk and lemon rind

Add lavender to top of frosting

One thought on “Raspberry Cake with Lemon Lavender Frosting

Leave a Reply

