Bodega; a rainy afternoon with a Russian

Bodega's Bar
Bodega's Bar

Today my friend Wes and I went to lunch at Bodega in the short north of Columbus. I’ve been hearing a ton of racket about this place, 50 different beers on tap, tons of imports and local brews, so obviously the best time to go was in the middle of the afternoon on a Tuesday. Did I mention it was raining?, I want to really set the mood here.

I walk in to the obviously well decorated short north locale, with fun contemporary lighting and a nice bar, sit down with Wes and demand exactly what I wanted “Give me an excellent imperial stout”.

I don’t know if it’s because I spent more time at Jackie O’s in Athens, Ohio (one of the best bars, ever.) then I did in my actual college classes, but something about Imperial Stouts gives me a sense of being. Dark, creamy, nitrate based…the word Russian? Ok i’m none of these things, however the experience of drinking a smooth, dark and thick awesome draft stout, makes me miss the black footed, bluegrass totin’ folk of Athens, Ohio. My Alma Mater- Ohio University.

I ordered a 9% North Coast Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout- perfect.

Russian Imperial Stout, MmMmmmm
Russian Imperial Stout, MmMmmmm

We went on to order food that was very good, but clearly an afterthought. You would think a place called Bodega wouldn’t be serving Panini’s and specialty pizza’s and cheese plates. However that just shows a little bit of my ignorance, Bodega’s are usually grocery store like businesses, so maybe they should have corndogs and slurpies. I’m kidding!

Grilled Cheese
Grilled Cheese
I ordered a small baby green salad of prosciutto and figs and was not disappointed. Wes ordered a grilled cheese and a Smithwick’s. The grilled cheese was decent but a little dry. My salad was fantastic. They also had a small plate of Tandoori Chicken that was dry but the spice was delicious.
Fig and Prosciutto Salad
Fig and Prosciutto Salad

They had a pretty good wine selection, a collection of liquor, but clearly the emphasis here is not wine, food or cocktails, but beer. Good old fashioned beer. Some local, some foreign, but very well selected. Speaking to our bartender, he told us that most of the business is done after 5. The food should not be disregarded, both of us left satisfied and happy with what we had eaten and our bill. The food is really affordable.
Clean Cup Club
Clean Cup Club

Outdoor seating is available, the place is very comfortable and clean. The waitstaff is friendly and helpful. My overall experience was a very good one and I can’t wait to go back to try some more of their fabulous beer list. They change the draft menu about three times a week so there is always something new to experience.

Leave a Reply

