Ohio Deli

Half of the Notorious Dagwood
Half of the Notorious Dagwood

After seeing Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food Columbus, Ohio, I had to try this ridiculous behemoth of a sandwich. When you pick this thing up, it weighs a ton, (2 1/2 lbs is close to a ton), it is also completely impossible to bite into. The novelty of this thing is that it is absolutely huge and perfect for gorging on some cold cuts or to satisfying emotional eating. As fun as getting this massive sandwich was, I only ate six bites, prayed for forgiveness and called it a day. When I left I couldn’t help but look over my shoulder and make sure that guy from the movie Seven wasn’t going to make me eat until I died.

The record for eating one is 5 1/2 minutes. Yeah, that’s it. I couldn’t eat this in two days, but a family of six might be able to finish it in 30 minutes or less, mmm gluttony and gastrointestinal discomfort is the price you pay for a free Dagwood. Did I mention you get a really cute T-Shirt too?!

The one thing that does bother me about Ohio Deli is that it is dirty, i.e. the menus stick to the table. The staff there is pretty intolerable too. I have gone there a few times with my boyfriend Brian and we always leave ripping out our hair. I will allow the waitstaff one warm fuzzy, they all look like they are hairdressers. For a place with so much recent media hype that has probably tripled it’s profits since the Man vs. Food airing, an investment in the overall experience might be a good idea.

The rest of the menu contains a lot of different sandwiches and most of them are relatively good, Ohio Deli’s french fries are pretty slammin too. If you find yourself on the south side of town with a taste for victory and a couple pounds of deli meat, check it out.

Ohio Deli
3444 South High St
Columbus OH, 43137

Leave a Reply

