Jicama and Fruit Salad; Curiousity Rewarded

Jicama, Jicama the magical fruit...
Jicama, Jicama the magical fruit...
Thanks to StumbleUpon toolbar, I have not only vastly expanded my interest and awareness of the world but have also lost a lot of productivity, time and friends. Regardless of it’s toxic abilities it did lead me to discover something incredibly interesting; Jicama. Jicama is like a potato, starchy hard to cut, with a lighter texture. I decided “hmm, this sounds foreign, I should make something with it” and thus the experiment commenced.

I make dinner for my family quite often, they are usually pretty pleased with my ability to create interesting concoctions. This one however was an absolute treat.

Kiwi
Kiwi

The jicama’s starchy flavor seems like it would be off-putting in most fruit salads, considering the taste and the texture. But what the jicama does create is an incredible crunch. It also absorbs flavors quite well. In fruit salad it works really well to absorb lemon and lime flavors. To make it even more exotic and interesting I added some grated jalapeno and coconut.

So I created this monster and now that i’m thinking about it, I wish I had some right now.

I’m not real big on specifics- quantity and amounts are up to you as far as fruit goes, but like music, cooking is a creation to your own tastes and rhythms so please don’t hesitate to “play a cover”.

Jicama Fruit Salad

serves four

2 Kiwi
1 Lg mango
2 Bananas
1 Qt Strawberries
1 Qt Raspberries
1 Qt Blueberries
2 Oranges Peeled
1/4 julienne Jicama
3 tbsp Lemon juice
3 tbsp Lime juice
1/2 cup honey
grated fresh ginger
Sprinkle of Coconut flakes to taste
1/2 tsp grated jalapeno

Cut up as desired bigger or smaller pieces to fit your tastes. I would let this chill in the fridge for a couple hours before serving. The flavors really blend together. The jalapeno provides heat- and it’s awesome but not the spice you would think. I was really hesitant to add it also. This is also INCREDIBLE blended and frozen. A great summer side.

Leave a Reply

